HELM for the masses - a notation standard for representing Biologics

webinar · 5 years ago
by Roland Knispel
Biologics Registration

When:
20th September, 2013

Start time:
6:00 pm CEST / 9:00 am PDT / 12:00 pm EDT / 4:00 pm GMT / 9:30 pm IST

The Hierarchical Editing Language for Macromolecules (HELM), an emerging notation standard, enables the representation of a wide range of biomolecules (e.g. proteins, nucleotides, antibody drug conjugates) through a hierarchical notation that represents complex macromolecules as polymeric structures with support for unnatural components (e.g. unnatural amino acids) and chemical modifications. Created by Pfizer scientists, the Pistoia Alliance formalized the HELM notation as an open standard in early 2013 and publicly released a modified version of previously proprietary software tools to the Open Source community, which now serve as reference implementation of the HELM standard.

This presentation aims to provide a brief overview of the HELM notation and the associated Open Source software tools, followed by a discussion of the prospects of HELM integrating small and large molecule information management systems.

Missed it? Watch it in our Library.